Jennifer Nielsen - American Fork

Jennifer Nielsen

Jennifer Nielsen

Sep 26, 2017, 6:30 pm


Jennifer Nielsen

Book Title

The Scourge


American Fork

Wasatch Front Region


American Fork Library
64 S 100 E
American Fork , UT 84003-2326
Map [+]


The American Fork Library welcomes Jennifer Nielsen, author of A Night Divided, The Ascendence Trilogy, and the Mark of the Thief trilogy to discuss her popular young adult novels on September 26th at 6:00 PM.

For as far back as Jennifer Nielsen can remember, she has shared her brain with imaginary characters. She figures it’s okay if she talks to them as she’s working on her stories, as long as they don’t start talking back.

Jennifer completed her first book in her early 20’s. She told a neighbor she planned to be published one day. The neighbor smiled back like Jennifer had a greater chance of landing on the moon one day. That was understandable. The first book was pretty bad. So was her second. And third. The fourth wasn’t terrible, but by then Jennifer had decided she was writing in the wrong genre. The characters in her head had changed from adult romantic suspense to young adult and children’s fantasy characters. Jennifer had to change her writing too.

Jennifer’s debut book was ELLIOT AND THE GOBLIN WAR (Sourcebooks, Oct 2010). That series became known as The Underworld Chronicles. The next series she released was The Ascendance trilogy, beginning with THE FALSE PRINCE (Scholastic, Apr 2012). She wrote the sixth book of the Infinity Ring series, BEHIND ENEMY LINES (Scholastic, Nov 2013). Her current series is MARK OF THE THIEF (Scholastic, Feb 2015), with the final book of the trilogy coming in January 2017. She recently released her first historical, A NIGHT DIVIDED (Scholastic, Aug 2015). Her most recent book is the standalone fantasy adventure, THE SCOURGE (Scholastic, Aug 2016).

This event is made possible with support from Utah Humanities and the American Fork Library.